Moving into 2017-18 with MSG

• Bookmarks: 19

Maryville Student Government closed out the school year and swore in new officers April 20 at the MSG Induction Ceremony. Retiring President Nicole Pruett made remarks in regards to the accomplishments this school year.

Some of the major accomplishments included:

  • Created an academic leadership team to create improved use of Canvas and received feedback from students and professors.
  • Reached out to national food brands to start the planning stages of bringing a chain to campus.
  • Created more efficient and longer dining hall hours.
  • Created a round table for all student leaders to collaborate and share ideas.
  • Improved relationships between students, student leaders and faculty/staff members.
  • Created better representation for all organizations on campus.
  • Enhanced relationships between the leaders and members of the 102 student organizations.

Brian Gardner, MSG adviser, said in regards to Pruett, “She has definitely put student leadership on a new level. She has been a great leader.”

The ceremony awarded members of student government for a year of hard work. “All of our seniors have played a key role in us advancing this year,” Pruett said.

Ashley Berger, Carly Johnson, Rafael Colberg, Tai Wilson and Janelle Saunders were recognized for being outstanding student leaders this past year.

The senator of the year award goes to someone who has put in extra effort and played a crucial role in advancing MSG. This year, senator of the year was awarded to two MSG members. The winners were Brie Howerton and April Stitch.

Members of the cabinet were also recognized for outstanding service. The members included Kayley Johns, Kathleen Giang, Rebecca Woltemath, Carli Henrotay and Brandon Kattenbraker.

Current vice president, Kayley Johns, was recognized for four years of service in student government. She has served various roles in MSG throughout her time at Maryville.

The executive board for the 2017-18 academic school year was sworn in. The members are Rebecca Woltemath, April Stitch, Brie Howerton and Ashley Berger.

New senators sworn in include: Talya Azar, Darah Ballard, Ellen Foster, Yasmine Ghohmi, Hira Hamirani, Shahad Megdad, Sarah Rose, Tatum Sharp, Victoria Trammell, Marilyn Vazquez, Alriel Watkins and Rachel Wentler.

The 2017-18 senators for MSG. Photo courtesy of Tanner Butler.

The new student body president, Kathleen Giang, was sworn in. “I feel really grateful to be standing here today. I really could not have accomplished this without everybody,” Giang said.

New student body president, Kathleen Giang, uses her gavel for the first time. Photo courtesy of Tanner Butler.

She has made plans to improve student life on campus. Some of her ideas to improve student life on campus include:

  • Redefining the role of student government by creating a stronger structure. This will allow students to be more involved and create better relationships. MSG wants to give every student the greatest college experience possible.
  • Increasing communication between student leaders through four yearly meetings.
  • “We will be working with Fresh Ideas to come up with some fresh ideas,” Giang said.

Next year will be busy for all student government members. Many changes will be initiated and student leaders are already hard at work.

Higher officials have been recognized and sworn in, but Maryville Student Government still has more room for members. Students can apply for a position and serve on one of many committees.

19 recommended
bookmark icon